Tags

,

The word grace is in a few Mumford & Sons lyrics (below) which makes me wonder how someone would think about that it outside of the context of God’s grace in sending Christ as our sacrifice.

So when a friend sent an email with this quote and question, I was poised to rattle off a response.

“We are not here to prove that God answers prayer, but to be living trophies of God’s grace.” My Utmost for His Highest 8/6

It made me think — what does he mean by a “living trophy of God’s grace?”

My reply:

“Like [another friend], it’s easier for me to talk about grace on a personal level: to talk about the way God shows me grace in times of weakness by giving me a way out from sin, or in times when I’ve fallen short to forgive me. So in a way we can be trophies of God’s grace by showcasing our weaknesses and talking about the way God gives us grace and strength in them.

Another way we display God’s grace is by extending it to others. The churchy definition of grace is “Giving someone something (good) they don’t deserve.” God surely gives us opportunities to do that with annoying co-workers, forgetful friends, siblings, etc.”

What do you think about grace? Or do you think about it?

Also I can’t be the first person to write about Mumford & Sons and grace. If you know of any good articles, please share in the comments!

From Roll Away Your Stone (lyrics – http://www.songmeanings.net/songs/view/3530822107858723677/)
“It seems that all my bridges have been burned,
But you say that’s exactly how this grace thing works
It’s not the long walk home that will change this heart,
But the welcome I receive with the restart.”

From After the Storm (lyrics – http://www.lyricsmania.com/after_the_storm_lyrics_mumford_and_sons.html)
“And there will come a time, you’ll see, with no more tears.
And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.
Get over your hill and see what you find there,
With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair.”

