Tags

, ,

“Tears roll gently down my face
I lick my lips for the salty taste,
reveling in deep, deep grace.
There are no words for this.”

Like I mentioned yesterday, I lost my voice this week. As I went throughout these silent days I was sharply aware of the reasons I usually speak: to let my opinion be known in a meeting, to explain how to do something, to encourage friends, to yell at other drivers, to ease awkward tension in the break room, to try to make someone like me. I heard the words I would have said but was unable to speak. And there were a lot of them.

But I also appreciated the moments when no words were needed; moments I might have missed otherwise: Smiling at a homeless man passing on the sidewalk. widening my eyes in surprised delight with a toddler who discovered a rack of colorful cards at the Post Office, sharing a look of sympathy with a friend who received disappointing news.

In His wisdom, God has built into our lives a channel of communication with Him for these very moments. Romans 8:26 “Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.”

Sometimes, there are no words for this.

