First of all, you should know that I’m 28 years old.  Just newly 28, but still…28.  It’s only been in this past year or so though that I’ve started to notice that in subtle ways, I’ve started to feel like a real grown-up.  {Let’s leave the whole, “Aren’t you a teacher of young children?” out of it. Thanks. :P }

Do any of these sound familiar?

1.  “It just doesn’t take that long.”  This is something that my mom said to me on a very regular basis in regards to any number of household duties.  Specifically though, I used to really dread loading and unloading the dishwasher.  When I was 16, I was convinced that this task would take me foreeeeeeverrrrrrrr.  When I was 23 living in an apartment with 2 roommates, I only did it out of fear of upsetting them (but I still felt like it was slightly ruining my day).  Only recently have I realized that it takes literally 5 minutes and you won’t remember that you did it after one hour.  Maybe living with a broken dishwasher for 2 months earlier this year had something to do with admitting this truth…

2.  I can motivate myself by remembering how I’ll feel after I complete something. For example, I take pleasure in cleaning my house because I know how much it will be worth it when friends stop by unannounced.  I can convince myself to go for that run or finish that workout because I know how proud and relieved I will feel afterward.  Maybe some people figure this one out when they’re 15, but it took a little longer for me!

3.  I’m excited about waking up insanely early.  This school year, Anthony leaves the house at 6:30am.  This means that I now usually wake up at 6am.  If you had told me during my first year of teaching that I was essentially going to be forced to wake up at 6am every morning, I would have cried.  So much.  But now?  Now I’m thankful for the kick in the pants that helps me plan my day in a way that leaves more room for my husband and friends and family.

Now here’s a scary thought…if I feel like such a grown-up now, how will I feel in another 28 years?!  :P

