At our first staff meeting for my school this year, we had to talk about lockdown drill procedures.  Ever since the Newtown shootings, lockdowns have taken on an entirely different meaning to me.  They make me upset–emotional, nervous, angry.  Spending 45 minutes talking about different scenarios and protocol was not my idea of fun.  In fact, by the end of the meeting I was in a sour mood.  I was on the verge of tears and I was angry.  I was angry that we had to sit through such a taxing meeting.  I was angry that some of the protocol didn’t make sense to me.  I was angry that those dear teachers and students in Connecticut followed the exact same protocol that I’m told to follow.  I was angry that I felt so fearful.  Most of all, I was angry that I even have to imagine living though such a horrific situation.

This anger lingered until the next day.  Then all of a sudden, I realized: we live in this world.  But we are not of this world.  My reactions at that meeting were perfectly reasonable–I’m human.  But I have a greater Power and a greater Love and a greater Comfort to turn to.  If I allow myself to steep in the misery that surrounds us, I forget Him and His promises.

Once the Lord reminded me of His presence in my life, I was able to understand so much more about what He meant when He said,

“I have told you these things so that in Me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

I have nothing to fear.  The Lord has already faced the worst that I can imagine and He has promised to save me and to comfort me.  Amen and Hallelujah!

